A half-open laptop in a dark room
Image: Kyle Sung (@kyliesunglass) on unsplash.com

Aries RFCs

Aries RFCs—Requests For Comments—are topics, features and concepts for standardizing the Aries ecosystem.

Each RFC goes through a five-stage lifecycle as seen below.

A five-stage RFC lifecycle in a circle. Proposed, Demonstrated, Accepted, Adopted, and Retired.

Aries RFCs are for those building on Aries. Because of this, if you are just using Aries frameworks for your projects (such as ACA-Py) then you probably don’t need to be concerned about Aries RFCs.


Diagram showing the relationship between various VC technologies.


  • RFCs focus on features, and concepts underpinning the features, but not the minor details
  • Each RFC beyond ‘Proposed’ has at least one implementation

Developer starting points


Need to speak to someone in the BC community about Digital Trust? Get in touch.